Writer Resources

Here is a list of resources for writers that I have found incredibly helpful:

SCBWI: www.scbwi.org  – If you plan on doing any sort of writing for children then your first step should be to join the Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators. It’s a great wealth of information and their message board (called the Blueboard) is a place to interact with other writers and ask any questions you may have.

Author websites

Josh Funk – If you are a picture book writer, I highly recommend that you read his guide to writing picture books:  https://www.joshfunkbooks.com/resources-for-writers

Jess Keating: www.jesskeating.com

Tara Lazar: www.taralazar.com

Gail Werner: www.gailwerner.com/resources

Darcy Pattison: www.darcypattison.com  **Also be sure to check out Darcy’s book How to Write a Children’s Picture Book

Literary Rambles: www.LiteraryRambles.com

Merrily Kutner: http://merrilykutner.com

Querying

ManuscriptWishList.com

AgentQuery.com

QueryTracker.net

Inspiration and Motivation

Jodi Kendall’s Blog Post – How I Got My Agent (and a 2 book deal!) really inspired me: http://www.jodikendall.com/blog-1/2016/6/23/how-i-got-my-agent

Facebook Groups

Kidlit 411 Manuscript Swap: https://www.facebook.com/groups/KIDLIT411MSswap – This group gives you the opportunity to get feedback from other kidlit authors and I encourage you to offer your feedback to someone else.

The Write Life Community: https://www.facebook.com/groups/TheWriteLifeGroup/

Writer Moms Inc: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Writermomsinc – It doesn’t matter what genre you write, if you are a mom you have to join this group. The ladies in this group are incredible and there is also a fun Twitter chat every Monday night.

Agent websites

Maria Vicente, Literary Agent at P.S. Literary Agency http://www.mariavicente.com/blog-posts/ – She’s got everything from writing and querying to publishing and branding.

Carly Watters, VP and Senior Literary Agent at the P.S. Literary Agency www.carlywatters.com – Though she no longer adds new posts to her blog, you can still find a lot of great information on writing, querying, branding, etc.

Jill Corcoran Literary Agency                                https://jillcorcoranliteraryagency.com/what-makes-a-book-sell/

Podcasts

  • Manuscript Academy
  • Stories Unbound
  • Magic Lessons with Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Writers Market Podcast, especially the interview with agent Carly Watters
  • All The Wonders
  • Writing For Children (Katie Davis)